Senior Citizens Association gets new Executive Committee



Senior Citizens Association gets new Executive Committee

The Senior Citizens Association elected a new executive committee during their annual general meeting on Friday 5th July.

The association’s annual general meeting attracted a total of 138 members comprising of representatives of district’s club senior citizen executive committee members from Mahe, Praslin and La Digue. They were welcome by representative of the Department of Local Government Mr. Emmanuel Toussaint who congratulated the outgoing executive committee for a work well done although they had to make important decisions at times. He further asked all members to continue to support the executive committee so as to keep the association active.

Launched in 2013, the Senior Citizen Association of Seychelles welcomes members of the age of 55 and above.  As per the Principal Secretary for Local Government message “Considering that our senior citizens are the pillars in our communities, they are filled with wisdom and valuable life skills which we can use to our benefit. It's important to acknowledge our senior citizens and the contribution that they're making to our society.   We're proud to be playing a leading role in implementing integrated services for their care, support and protection as they are asset to their families, communities and the society.   There is strong community engagement in Seychelles and we will continue to support, harness and nurture such capacities through the associations leading towards decisive contribution to community development”

The outgoing chairperson then presented her report on the activities organized by the association during she emphasized on use of technology in modern communication. The outgoing treasurer then presented a detailed financial transaction for the past year which the assembly approved.

Highlight of the day was the election of the executive committee held under the supervision of Mrs. Eleine Moses from Citizens Engagement Platform Seychelles (CEPS). The new executive committee are

  • Mrs Germaine Gill                  Chairperson
  • Mrs Rose May Amade             Vice Chairperson
  • Mr Donasyen Dogley              Secretary
  • Mr Daouda Traore                  Vice Secretary
  • Mrs Johnette Mahoune          Treasurer
  • Mr John Talma                        Vice Treasurer
  • Mrs Jessie Freminot                Rep. North Region
  • Mr Percy Dingwell                  Rep. Central 1 Region
  • Mrs  Marie Therese Bernard  Rep. Central 2 Region
  • Mrs Josianne Philoe                Rep. East Region
  • Mrs Christianne Nibourette    Rep. South Region
  • Mrs Gorgette Larue                Rep. West Region
  • Mr Rene Bastienne                 Rep. Inner Island


The newly elected Chairperson of the Association Mrs. Germaine Gill thanked the outgoing committee for the work done.  She pledged to all members to share wisdom and keep the association active.  Her priority is to encourage other senior citizens to join the clubs at district level.  However the main task of the new committee will be to amend the association’s constitution as per motion adopted in the meeting.

The Department of Local Government pledged to continue to support the association and to work alongside them.